Blue Mountains Iyengar Yoga Studio

  • Quote 1
  • Quote 2
  • Quote 3


BKS IyengarIyengar Yoga – so coined after BKS Iyengar, who developed his own style based on the tradition of Pantanjali’s Eight Limbs of Ashtanga Yoga.

“ Yoga is an art, a science and a philosophy. It touches the life of man at every level, physical, mental and spiritual.
It is a practical method for making one's life purposeful, useful and noble.
Yoga is a friend to those who embrace it sincerely and totally.
It lifts its practitioners from the clutches of pain and sorrow, and enables them to live fully, taking a delight in life.
The practice of yoga helps the lazy body to become active and vibrant.
It transforms the mind, making it harmonious.”

BKS Iyengar – Light on the Yoga Sutras of Patanjali

Iyengar Yoga places emphasis on alignment, sequencing, precision and use of props. The practitioner not only develops strength and flexibility, but a sense of mental and physical well-being. Iyengar Yoga can be practiced by anyone, regardless of age or ability. The practice brings clarity and understanding to the underlying principles and philosophy.

Our beloved Guruji, BKS Iyengar passed away on August 20, 2014, at the age of 95. Whilst Guruji's physical presence may no longer be felt, he has left us an incredible legacy that will allow future generations to continue to learn and develop physically and spiritually. The world-wide Iyengar yoga community is blessed to have Guruji's daughter Geetaji, son Prashantaji and grand daughter Abhijata continue his tireless work. They, too, have devoted their lives to the art of yoga and have contributed enormously to shedding light on this ancient subject through their teaching. Under their tireless guidance, the Ramamani Iyengar Memorial Yoga Institute in Pune, India, still maintains it's vibrancy.


The Certification process for the teachers maintains the vigour, integrity and vibrancy of the Iyengar Yoga practice. The Iyengar Certification process entails many years and a high level of ongoing assessments. There are five levels of certification from Introductory to Advanced Senior level. To obtain the initial Introductory level of teaching certificate in the Iyengar method requires 5 years of practice and at least 2 years of training with a senior teacher.


Iyengar Certification MarkThe Iyengar Yoga certification mark is used under license by certified Iyengar Teachers worldwide. This mark recognizes teachers of Iyengar Yoga who have completed intensive teacher training, have undergone a demanding assessment process and are required required to maintain their Certification Mark licence each year with ongoing training and education, practice and commitment to Iyengar Yoga method. This Certification Mark ensures an internationally recognized standard of excellence in teaching. Only teachers displaying the Iyengar Yoga Certification Mark are qualified to teach Iyengar Yoga. In addition, each certified teacher is required to be thoroughly trained in anatomy and physiology and to be qualified in Cardiac Pulmonary Resuscitation {CPR}. Today there are over 200 certified teachers in Australia.

For more information go to:

BKS Iyengar Association of Australia

B K S Iyengar